Picture
Everyone has been wondering when Kobe Bryant’s career will come to an end.  It is ultimately his decision to call it quits or continue his extremely impressive career.  Kobe, as a rookie, stated that he didn’t have plans on playing past 35 years of age, or until he could no longer play at the extremely high level he performs at, and he’s stuck to his guns up to this point in his career.  Everyone would love to watch Kobe continue playing until he can no longer play anymore.  He has been with the Laker franchise since he was traded to Los Angeles on draft day in 1996, and he has no plans on ever playing for anyone but the Lakers.  Kobe has given himself a deadline of this upcoming summer to declare if he is planning on retiring or play on.  Kobe states:

“I’ll talk to my family and stuff and really see if I want to continue to sacrifice as much as I’m sacrificing right now.  I’m putting my body through a lot to just try to get ready to play every single night.  To do what I’m doing right now, it’s not easy.  I’ll tell you, it’s taken a lot of commitment.”

Kobe Bryant sure has a lot of talent, but to tap into the full potential of that talent takes sacrifice, commitment, and a strong love for the game.  Kobe was asked if he thinks next season will be his last, and Bryant replied:

                “As I sit here right now, yeah.”

 Bryant was then asked; Is there anything the Lakers can say that would make it more likely you play beyond next season?

“No.  It’s my decision.  It’s really about what I want to do, if I want to train and be psychotic with my training.  That’s what it comes down to.  It’s really how I’m feeling physically.”

I have a feeling that Kobe will continue beyond next season, or like Michael Jordan, he will realize he made a mistake and make a comeback.  Kobe has worked extremely hard over the past 17 years in the NBA.  Doing the amount of sacrifice and dedication to the game for another 3 years is a quite daunting to think of.  This summer will be highly intriguing for Los Angeles with the pending resigning of Dwight Howard and what direction the Lakers organization would like to take the franchise based on Bryant’s decision.  In the end, it is Kobe’s decision and nobody else should have a say in the matter.





Leave a Reply.